UI Horn Studio Guest Artists, Clinicians, Lecturers, Recitalists

The University of Iowa Horn Studio is regularly enriched by guest artists, who bring their knowledge, experience, skills, and wide–ranging expertise to share with the horn students in the form of workshops, lectures, recitals, demonstrations, masterclasses, question and answer sessions, panel discussions, and more. Guest artists are one of the ways that the studio maintains connections with the wider world of music, horn, and musicianship.


James Naigus (University of Georgia)
Annie Chapman Brewster (freelance)
Jesse McCormick (Cleveland Orchestra)

Paul Basler (University of Florida)
Jeffrey Snedeker (Central Washington University)
Rusty Holmes (Texas freelance)
Brian Kavolius-Matherne (Navy Fleet Band)
Jeffry Kirschen (Philadelphia Orchestra)
Lin Foulk Baird (Western Michigan University)
Rachel Velvikis (Seraph Brass)

Abigail Pack (University of North Carolina-Greensboro)
James Boldin (University of Louisiana-Monroe)
Tom Varner (Cornish College of the Arts, jazz hornist)

Eric Reed (American Brass Quintet)
American Brass Quintet
Seraph Brass


Patrick Hughes (University of Texas-Austin)
Katie Johnson-Web (University of Tennessee-Knoxville)
Jeff Snedeker (Central Washington University, Horn Society President)

Paul Basler (University of Florida, composer)
Nick Westphal (freelance)
Rachel Niketopoulos (North Carolina Symphony, Alexander Technique, yoga)


David Griffin (Chicago Symphony)
Ricardo Matosinhos (author, composer, professor at Academia de Musica de Costa Cabral [Portugal])
Brett Hodge (Omaha Symphony)


Roger Kaza (Principal horn, St. Louis Symphony)
Jacquelyn Adams (University of Southern Mississippi, ex-Genghis Barbie horn quartet)
Patrick Smith (Virginia Commonwealth University)


Paul Basler (University of Florida, composer)
Erin Wehr (U of Iowa, expert on Peak Performance)
Natalie Young (University of Talca, Chile)


Randy Gardner (Cincinnati Conservatory of Music; ex-Philadelphia Orchestra)
Bernhard Scully (U of Illinois, ex-Canadian Brass, ex-St Paul Chamber Orchestra)
Kazimierz Machala (ex-U of Illinois; Cracow University)
Daren Robbins (Mahidol University, hornexcerpts.org)
Wayne Lu (composer, conductor, soloist, music publisher)


Charles Tibbetts (ex-Southwest Radio Orchestra [Germany])
Eric McIntyre (Grinnell College; conductor, hornist, composer)
Patrick Hughes (University of Texas-Austin)
Bernhard Scully (U of Illinois, ex-Canadian Brass, ex-St Paul Chamber Orchestra)


Adam Unsworth (University of Michigan; ex-Philadelphia Orchestra)
Bon Vivant Horn Quartet
Moran Woodwind Quintet
Guinevere McIntyre (Drake University, Grinnell College)
Jacob Yarrow (Program Director, Hancher Auditorium)
Kelly Langenberg (State Street Brass)


Ellen Dinwiddie Smith (Minnesota Orchestra)
TubaCor with Lin Foulk (Western Michigan University)
Bruce Atwell (University of Wisconsin-Osh Kosh)
The Wisconsin Brass Quintet (with Douglas HIll, horn)
Pat Miles (University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point)


Lin Foulk (Western Michigan University)
Stacie Mickens (Luther College)
Tina Su (University of Northern Iowa)
John Muriello (University of Iowa; expert on acting, stage presence)
Harald Stauss (University of Iowa; physiology of brass playing)


Douglas Hill (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Kevin Welch (Mankato State University)
Wayne Lu (performer, educator, composer, conductor)
Randall Faust (Western Illinois University)


Bernhard Scully (U of Illinois, ex-St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, ex-Canadian Brass)
Virginia Thompson (University of West Virginia)
Abigail Pack (James Madison University)
Stuart de Haro (horn maker and brass repairman)
Susan LaFever (NY freelancer)
Ricardo Almeida (Cologne Symphony)


Kristen Hansen (Columbia State University)
John Ericson (Arizona State University)
Ed Sarath (University of Michigan)
Andrew Pelletier (Bowling Green University)


Marina Miller (Air Force Band)
Walter Thompson (NY Soundpainting conductor)
Arkady Shilkloper (Jazz horn, alphorn)
Kristin Thelander (UI School of Music Director; natural horn expert)
Andy Harris (Cedar Rapids Symphony; Des Moines Symphony)
Dan Malloy (Cedar Rapids Symphony; Waterloo/Cedar Falls Symphony)


Kristin Thelander (UI School of Music Director; natural horn expert)
Greg Hustis (Dallas Symphony)
Randall Faust (University of Western Illinois)


Arkady Shilkloper (Jazz horn)
Ann Ellsworth (Manhattan Brass Quintet)
Dennis Behm (University of Southern Mississippi)
Evan Mazunik (Jazz)
Ruthann McTyre (Music Librarian)
Lee Kessinger (Horn teacher, Davenport, IA)
Steve Schultz (Horn teacher, freelancer)
Brent Sandy (jazz faculty)
Melissa Robinson (freelance)


Kathy Staley (UI psychology prof: on mental aspects of performance)
Ralph Hall (University of Iowa: acting; movement)
Rachel Tsachor (University of Iowa: movement for performers)


Guest Artist Andrew Pelletier and Jeffrey Agrell


Guest Artist Greg Hustis (Dallas Symphony) demonstrates.


Guest horn maker Stuart De Haro discussing horn construction.


Jazz hornist Arkady Shilkloper demonstrates
his prowess on the Alphorn during a workshop.